Click the flags to choose language

Raúl Juliá

Place of birth:
San Juan, Puerto Rico:
Raúl Rafael Juliá y Arcelay (March 9, 1940 – October 24, 1994) was a Puerto Rican actor. His film career peaked in the US in the early 1990s. Born in San Juan, he gained interest in acting while still in school. Upon completing his studies, Juliá decided to pursue a career in acting. After performing in the local scene for some time, he was convinced by entertainment personality Orson Bean to move and work in New York City. Juliá, who had been bilingual since his childhood, soon gained interest in Broadway and "Off Broadway" plays. He performed in mobile projects, including the Puerto Rican Traveling Theatre. Juliá was eventually noticed by Joseph Papp, who offered him work in the New York Shakespeare Festival. After gaining notoriety, he received roles in two television series, Love of Life and Sesame Street. For his performance in Two Gentlemen of Verona, he received a nomination for the Tony Award and won a Drama Desk Award. Between 1974 and 1982, Juliá received Tony Award nominations for Where's Charley?, The Threepenny Opera and Nine. During the 1980s, he worked in several films, receiving nominations for the Golden Globe Awards, for his performance in Tempest, and Kiss of the Spider Woman, winning the National Board of Review Award for Best Actor for the latter. In 1991 and 1993, Juliá portrayed "Gomez Addams" in two film adaptations of The Addams Family. In 1994, he filmed The Burning Season and a film adaptation of the Street Fighter video games. Later that year, Juliá suffered several health afflictions, eventually dying after suffering a stroke. His funeral was held in Puerto Rico, being attended by thousands. For his work in The Burning Season, Juliá won a posthumous Golden Globe and Emmy Award.


Babenco - Alguém Tem que Ouvir o Coração e Dizer: Parou (2020)
as Self (archive footage)
Raúl Juliá: The World’s a Stage (2019)
as Archive Footage
Tangled Web: Making Kiss of the Spider Woman (2008)
as Valentin Arregui/Himself
Down Came a Blackbird (1995)
as Tomas Ramirez
Street Fighter (1994)
as General M. Bison
The Burning Season (1994)
as Chico Mendes
Addams Family Values (1993)
as Gomez Addams
La Peste (1992)
as Cottard
The Addams Family (1991)
as Gomez Addams
Havana (1990)
as Arturo Duran (uncredited)
Frankenstein Unbound (1990)
as Dr. Victor Frankenstein
Presumed Innocent (1990)
as Sandy Stern
The Rookie (1990)
as Strom
Mack the Knife (1989)
as MacHeath
Romero (1989)
as Archbishop Oscar Romero
Florida Straits (1989)
as Carlos Jayne
Tequila Sunrise (1988)
as Carlos / Comandante Xavier Escalante
Moon Over Parador (1988)
as Roberto Strausmann
The Penitent (1988)
as Ramon Guerola
Trading Hearts (1988)
as Vinnie Iacona
Onassis: The Richest Man in the World (1988)
as Aristotle Onassis
The Alamo: Thirteen Days to Glory (1987)
as General Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna
Tango Bar (1987)
as Ricardo Padín
The Morning After (1986)
as Joaquin "Jackie" Manero
La gran fiesta (1986)
as Adolfo
Compromising Positions (1985)
as David Suarez
Kiss of the Spider Woman (1985)
as Valentin Arregui
Overdrawn at the Memory Bank (1984)
as Aram Fingal / Rick Blaine
The Making of 'One from the Heart' (1982)
as Himself
Tempest (1982)
as Kalibanos
The Escape Artist (1982)
as Stu Quiñones
One from the Heart (1981)
as Ray
Kiss Me, Petruchio (1981)
as Petruchio
Isabel La Negra (1979)
as Paulo
Eyes of Laura Mars (1978)
as Michael Reisler
The Gumball Rally (1976)
Death Scream (1975)
as Det. Nick Rodriguez
King Lear (1974)
as Edmund
The Organization (1971)
as Juan Mendoza
Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up to Me (1971)
as Juan Carlos Rosenbloom
The Panic in Needle Park (1971)
as Marco
Stiletto (1969)
as Party Guest (Uncredited)
Street Fighter
In Memory Of

Movies © 2021

Powered by: